DS travel policy
(Adobe PDF File)

Distinguished Speaker Program

This program provides local Chapters a contact list of persons in high industry regard who are able and willing to speak on certain topic(s) of interest at local chapter meetings. The persons immediately below have been designated and have agreed to serve as SPWLA Distinguished Speakers for the year 2018-19. The talks proposed here are all amongst the top papers presented at the 2018 International 59th Annual Symposium in London. 

2018-2019 Distinguished Speaker List

A Revolutionary X-ray Tool For True Sourceless Density Logging With Superior Performance
Matthieu Simon, Schlumberger, Europe
simonmat@slb.com; Avto Tkabladze, Schlumberger, North America, atkabladze@slb.com

Borehole Acoustic Imaging Using 3D STC Ray Tracing To Determine Far-Field Reflector Dip Azimuth
Nicholas Bennett, Schlumberger, North America,
bennett10@slb.com

An Integrated Workflow To Estimate Permeability Through Quantification Of Rock Fabric Using Joint Interpretation Of Nuclear Magnetic Resonance And Electric Measurements
Artur Posenato Garcia, The University of Texas at Austin, North America,
posenato@utexas.edu

Improved Interpretation of Electrical Resistivity Measurements In Mixed-Wet Rocks: An Experimental Core-Scale Application And Model Verification
Chelsea Newgord, The University of Texas at Austin, North America,
cnewgord@utexas.edu

Upscaling of Digital Rock Porosities By Correlation With Core CT Scan Histograms
Stefan A. Hertel, Shell International E&P, North America,
stefan.hertel@shell.com

Statistical Methods To Enable Practical On-Site Tomographic Imaging Of Whole-Core Samples
Alberto Mendoza, Imperial College London, Europe,
alberto.x.mendoza@gmail.com

Defining Net Pay Cutoffs In Carbonates Using Advanced Petrophysical Methods
Mark T Skalinski, Chevron, North America,
mm_skalinski@yahoo.ca

Novel Smart Cement For Improved Well Integrity Evaluation
Hani Elshahawi, Shell, North America,
elshahawi@gmail.com

Azimuthal Imaging Using Deep-Directional Resistivity Measurements Reveals 3D Reservoir Structure
Michael Thiel, Schlumberger, North America,
mthiel@slb.com

Maintaining and Reconstructing In-Situ Saturations: A Comparison Between Whole Core, Sidewall Core, And Pressurized Sidewall Core In The Permian Basin
Aidan Blount, Shell E&P Co., North America,
Aidan.Blount@shell.com

Fast Pressure-Decay Core Permeability Measurement For Tight Rocks
Zheng Gan, Core Laboratories LP, North America,
zhenggan@gmail.com

Temperature Dependence Of 2D NMR T1-T2 Maps Of Shale
Ravinath Kausik, Schlumberger-Doll Research, North America,
rviswanathan@slb.com

Experimental Quantification Of Kerogen Wettability As A Function Of Thermal Maturity
Archana Jagadisan, The University of Texas At Austin, North America,
archana.jagadisan@utexas.edu

The persons immediately below have been designated and have agreed to serve as SPWLA Regional Speakers for the year 2018-19. The talks proposed here have been nominated by industry peers to be included in the SPWLA program.

2018-2019 Regional Speaker List

WHAT WE HAVE LEARNED FROM THE PETROPHYSICAL EVALUATION OF THE VACA MUERTA FORMATION IN THE LAST 5 YEARS OF UNCONVENTIONAL SHALE PLAY DEVELOPMENT

Alberto Ortiz, YPF S.A. Argentina, South America,
alberto_ortiz@hotmail.com

BUILDING A SUCCESSFUL PETROPHYSICAL MODEL
Claudio Naides, Pampa Energia, South America,
Claudio.naides@pampaenergia.com

EXTRACTING ROCK CATION EXCHANGE CAPACITY FROM EM MEASUREMENTS
Dr. Ping Zhang, Schlumberger, MEA,
PZhang1@slb.com

TOWARDS 3D RESERVOIR MAPPING: INFORMATION CONTENT IN DEEP DIRECTIONAL RESISTIVITY MEASUREMENTS
Dzevat Omeragic, Schlumberger, North America,
omeragic@slb.com

APPLICATION OF MAGNETIC RESONANCE LOGGING IN SAN JORGE BASIN
Eduardo Breda, YPF S.A. Argentina, South America,
bredaedu@hotmail.com

FUNDAMENTAL CONTROLS OF “PERCHED” WATER CONTACTS: FROM RECOGNITION TO MODELLING
Iulian Hulea, Shell, Europe,
Iulian.Hulea@shell.com

AN UNSUPERVISED LEARNING ALGORITHM TO COMPUTE FLUID VOLUMES FROM NMR T1-T2 LOGS IN UNCONVENTIONAL RESERVOIRS
Lalitha Venkataramanan, Schlumberger, North America, LVenkataramanan@slb.com

IDENTIFICATION OF BYPASSED HYDROCARBON THROUGH THE INTEGRATION OF 3D RESISTIVITY IMAGING AND PULSED- NEUTRON LOGGING
Luis Quintero, Halliburton, North America,
luis.quintero@halliburton.com

FORMATION EVALUATION APPLYING DEDUCTIVE AND INDUCTIVE METHODOLOGIES. WHICH ONE TO USE WHEN CHARACTERIZING RESERVOIRS
Luis Stinco, Oleumpetra LLC, South America,
lpstinco@yahoo.com

CARBONATE PETROPHYSICS IN PETROLEUM, CONSTRUCTION AND PLUMBING
Martin Kennedy, MSK Scientific, Asia Pacific,
mkennpet@aol.com

LQC ... EASY AS 1,2,3!
Martin Storey, Well Data Quality Assurance, Asia Pacific,
mstorey@welldataqa.com

A NOVEL HIGH-DEFINITION INVERSION OF DEEP DIRECTIONAL ELECTROMAGNETIC MEASUREMENTS WHILE-DRILLING ENHANCES LAYERED RESERVOIR MAPPING
Maurizio Mele, ENI, Europe,
Maurizio.Mele@eni.com

INTEGRATING MEASURED KEROGEN PROPERTIES WITH LOG ANALYSIS FOR PETROPHYSICS AND GEOMECHANICS IN UNCONVENTIONAL RESOURCES
Paul Craddock, Schlumberger, North America,
pcraddock@slb.com

NEW MULTIPHYSICS, MULTISCALE INVERSION FOR IMAGING PETROPHYSICAL PROPERTIES IN ANISOTROPIC LAMINATED FORMATIONS
Sushil Shetty, Schlumberger, North America, sushilshettyt@gmail.com

How to Book a Speaker?

Please contact the speakers directly, and copy your Regional Director with this correspondence. Speakers are not limited to their region, SPWLA educational budget funds are available to cover/offset speaker travel expenses. For assistance in travel reimbursement, please contact VP-Education Katerina Yared. In order to reduce the burdens on persons serving as Distinguished Speaker, please attempt to coordinate travel so that multiple chapters may be visited on a single trip.  The speakers are also asked to contact local chapters to volunteer talks when it fits into their normal travel schedule.

Chapter officers are urged to make an extra effort for local university students to attend the Distinguished Speaker presentations by informing students of the presentation through contacts with key professors.

If you have any questions or issues regarding the Distinguished Speaker program, please contact VP-Education or the SPWLA office.

Building our Program

Regional Distinguished Speaker list is an evolving body where we will continuously welcome and encourage your feedback. We will also accept Regional Speaker nominations on a constant basis; feel free to email any nominations to vp-education@spwla.org